Skip to main content
This section is included in your selections.

The commission shall consist of nine voting members who represent economic, political, and social interests in the Borough and demonstrate expertise in resilient and sustainable arctic economies. The membership of the commission shall be established as follows:

A. Six members shall be nominated by the Mayor and confirmed by majority vote of the Assembly.

B. Two members shall be appointed by the Presiding Officer of the Assembly, one member an Assemblymember and one member from the public. These members shall serve at the pleasure of the Presiding Officer and may be removed by the Presiding Officer without cause.

C. The Mayor shall serve as a member of the commission and as the commission’s chair. (Ord. 2023-45 § 2, 2023; Ord. 2004-49 § 2, 2004; Ord. 2004-10 § 2, 2004. 2004 Code § 2.75.030.)